This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Question] World of Color Platform

Ok...so don't mock me, because I'm sure this has been covered before. I was wondering if the WOC platform will be sub-merged during the day/night when the show isn't "on"?
    Stockholder and Walt Disney Autograph holder!!

Re: World of Color Platform

Yes it will be completely under water except during the show and the water will become more blue so you cannot see any of it under water.

Comment

Here's my rendition of what ICe101 said.

(Disclaimer: I am not a professional artist. You have been warned! )

The World of Color platform has 3 modes: "Maintenance", "Show", and "Sleep" (idk what to call it). What we are currently seeing is "maintenance". Everything is out of the water for construction, tweaking, and programming.

Once everything is done and we start counting down the days until the show opens, the platform will be lowered to "sleep" mode. The platform will be completely submerged under the water (which will have been dyed) and never been seen by us again during DCA operating hours (under normal circumstances).

When it's showtime the platform will rise up to "show" level. The platform itself will still be under the water but the nozzle heads will be peaking out.

At the conclusion of the show everything goes back under the water until the next show.

EDIT: My drawings look like they were made by a Preschooler with ADD on crack...and I'm ok with that

Comment

Close but not quite. The X joints arn't holding it up, they are free-floating, the x-joints just keep the platform aligned.

Comment

Of course the platform is going to be submerged under water in the daytime. Why would they show all this hideous looking mechanic things.

One good example, is the Las Vegas Belligio Water Fountain Show.