Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bob Iger’s biggest mistakes to date

Aloha,

i have greatly enjoyed the Disney+ Imagineering series, especially the reflections/ results of the decisions made by Disney’s leadership. Which got me to thinking about Bob Iger’s time at the helm. The good...a lot of investment in new rides, ships, DVC, Disney+, movies, etc...

But what have been his failures? The biggest which come to my mind is lack of either oversight or plain bad judgement on the Latest Star Wars Trilogy and SWGE. The last couple of films were disappointing and the philosophy and execution of SWGE has been equally disappointing. Pure head scratchers.

What do y’all think? I am no expert and would like to know your opinions.

SW:GE is a hot mess, and much of that mess is directly attributable to the decisions Bob Chapek made in the 24 months leading up to its opening. All the stuff cancelled and cut back and delayed by Chapek made the bottom line look better in '18 but when it opened in '19 its impact on the DLR was a weak shadow of what was supposed to happen.

If SW:GE doesn't turn around massively in 2020, Bob Chapek will need to be the sacrifice. The dude was supposed to be in the running for Iger's job, but his boneheaded decisions and total lack of people skills (or even a hint of likability) proves he's not up to the job.

Bob Chapek is one of Iger's biggest blunders. If not the biggest. Kathleen Kennedy's handling of the Star Wars franchise could equal Chapek tho.

Comment

You add Marvel Comics and ESPN to that list. Both went to expand their audience at the sacrifice of old. In both cases the new audience never materialized and no attempt was made win back the original audience.

Comment

Bob’s successes :
        -Pixar
        -Marvel
        -Disney+
        -Disney Animation
        -foreign parks

Bob’s Blunders:
        - Espn
        - Star Wars
        - Walt Disney World
        -DCA (after initially fixing it)