The Real Reason "Mickey's Runaway Railroad" Is Being Built.

Collapse

Get Away Today

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Spectacular
    MiceChatter
    • May 2015

[Rumor] The Real Reason "Mickey's Runaway Railroad" Is Being Built.

Mickey Mouses's copyright protections expire in 2023, 95 years after the character's inception, soon after when the ride is expected to open. The only way for Disney to perpetuate its creative control over the character would be for it to argue that the character is a "trademark" of Disney- hence why there is a noticeable push by the company to brand the character everywhere, including in the parks.

I am not a lawyer so I don't fully understand copyright law, but this is what I read about on an article regarding copyright law. Apparently the transition of a character from copyright protection into trademark protections haven't been successful in the past, so Mickey might be entering the public domain in two years. Disney is willing to invest millions of dollars, and even build an entire ride, to retain control of him.
    Last edited by Spectacular; 07-02-2020, 01:44 PM.
  • stovk
    Banned User
    • Jul 2012

Interesting proposition. I'll have to look into this a bit more. Thanks for the theory.
    ​​​
    Last edited by stovk; 07-02-2020, 04:33 PM.

Comment

• Mom kissed Walt
      • Jul 2012

Wow, excellent theory. I remember learning about this in film school when we went into discussions about public domain and it's history. The law also known as the Sonny Bono Copyright Term Extension Act, Sonny Bono Act, or (derisively) the Mickey Mouse Protection Act is fascinating and this theory makes a ton of sense!
      You know, I have the strangest feeling that I've seen that ship before. A long time ago, when I was very young. ―George Darling
      It seems to me that we have a lot of story yet to tell. ― Walt Disney

Comment

• stovk
        Banned User
        • Jul 2012