Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why not more subterranean attractions/show buildings/ dining locations?

Collapse

Get Away Today

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm no expert, but "digging down" seems to be a bit more logistically difficult than building up. You need a wide buffer zone around the excavation for safety, and in a park as hemmed-in as Disneyland, that means closing a lot more than just the area immediately under construction. And that's not even getting into the issues with earthquake-safety regulations and the like.
    Like this post? Read more like it at The Disneyland Dilettante!

Comment

Originally posted by Karalora View Post
      I'm no expert, but "digging down" seems to be a bit more logistically difficult than building up. You need a wide buffer zone around the excavation for safety, and in a park as hemmed-in as Disneyland, that means closing a lot more than just the area immediately under construction. And that's not even getting into the issues with earthquake-safety regulations and the like.
      The expense is indeed an issue.

Some related discussions from the last several years:

Could an Underground "Land" Work in the Landlocked Disneyland Resort?

Disneyland Underground

Are Utilidors Being Built Beneath the Disneyland Resort?

Disneyland Underworld

"Disneyland is often called a magic kingdom because
      it combines fantasy and history, adventure and learning,
      together with every variety of recreation and fun,
      designed to appeal to everyone."

- Walt Disney

"Disneyland is all about turning movies into rides."
      - Michael Eisner

"It's very symbiotic."
      - Bob Chapek

Comment

^Agreed with above posts. Disneyland is in Earthquake country, making this idea hard to do.

And while WDW has the Utilidors, they didn't dig into the ground to make them. They built them on ground level, then built the park over them.