Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What happens with the resort Gingerbread houses?

Collapse

Ad Widget

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What happens with the resort Gingerbread houses?

I was checking today's dateline disneyworld and I saw this picture:

That is A LOT food worth of ingredients. What happens to the Gingerbread houses after the holidays? Are they given to cast members to enjoy? Donated to charity? I really hope they are not thrown away as garbage- that would be an awful waste of food! Anyone knows?

While I have no knowledge, it just sits out there, exposed to the elements and all the people who probably come up and touch it (and I'm sure a fair share try to lick it) for weeks on end. Even if no one did touch it, I'd imagine it to be pretty stale after all that time. So I can't imagine it's consumable at that point.
    Does anyone even bother with signatures anymore?

Comment

Ya I read most American families waste $1500 worth of food a year so not surprising.

Comment

Trust me, those things are NOT edible after being out for 2 months for the holidays and on display, exposed to tourists and who knows what else. While it may seems like they are wasting a lot of "food", think about how much the parks would spend on decorations and landscaping otherwise on other materials and it's going to come out to similar costs.

Comment

Oh my, why not just make a maquette version just to ice differently every year. The ultimate American wastefulness. I'll write a letter to them to see what they reply.

Comment

Originally posted by mtlchuck View Post
            I was checking today's dateline disneyworld and I saw this picture:

That is A LOT food worth of ingredients. What happens to the Gingerbread houses after the holidays? Are they given to cast members to enjoy? Donated to charity? I really hope they are not thrown away as garbage- that would be an awful waste of food! Anyone knows?