This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with careers and intellectual property

Okay, so I'm currently in a period where I can't decide what to do with my life (my family has the curse of changing majors 10 million times before graduation). I'm really creative, so I'm thinking of looking at stuff in creative industries. But I have one paranoia- I have heard of some jerk companies who want to lay claim to any intellectual property their employees produce, even if it's on their own time. I'm a writer, and the idea of someone else owning my stories is abhorent. My brain thinks that the further away I stay from artsy careers, the less chance of my stories getting owned by my potential employers. Is this a valid concern? Do employers in creative industries (or other industries) usually try to do that? Or are those kinds of employers really rare and I'm just being my paranoid OCD self? One of the reasons I'm so paranoid about this was I heard Tim Burton came up with his Nightmare poem while working for Disney, and they owned the rights to it.
    Introducing- The Geek Tutorial! The new informational webseries on computers and the geekiness of life.

Screw eHarmony- I met my soulmate at Star Trek: The Experience. :geek:

Random funny exchange from Star Trek: The Experience:

BF: "If you take any photos on the attraction, we will shoot you with a phaser."
    Guest: "On stun?"
    BF: "Maybe....."
    Me: "I wouldn't trust him."

Re: Help with careers and intellectual property

^I think Micechat owns that post now. I wish I could give you some advice, but I'm not sure how it works with intellectual properties.

Comment

Re: Help with careers and intellectual property

This is a really great site for this:
      What is Intellectual Property?

Creative works fall under copyrights rather than Industrial Property so click that link and read about it.