This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Meditation

Do any of you meditate? What are your techniques? How do you learn how to do it? How does it help you in your life?

Re: Meditation

Wow, this is the last place I was expecting a meditation posting. But I do meditate, at least weekly, and I aim for daily. My technique is simple - adopt a comfortable pose, concentrate on breathing and/or hand tingling, and observe thoughts internally, and their pull, for 20-30 minutes.

I started meditating when I was a teenager based on some guided audiotapes. But now I am a member of the Orange County Zen Center, and also attend the weekly guided meditaion at a bookstore in Costa Mesa on Sunday nights, which is more Tibetan in nature. Not my thing, as tibetan meditation is more about ritual, it seems, but the discussion and lectures are really, really good.

Comment

I've been using meditation in my life for about the last two months and have found it very helpful. Not only do I get a more restful sleep, but I do seem to get less stressed over things as well.

If you have an iPod remember that are Podcasts, which are free, for mostly everything under the sun! I download meditation Podcasts, and I use them to relax before I go to bed. I like "The Meditation Podcast" and "Meditation Oasis" Podcasts. At first I thought I'd fall asleep listening to these, but I didn't ... they were very relaxing.

Comment

I am an anxious person by nature, so I do a lot of belly breathing and positive affirmations throughout the day-- I also take 20 minutes a day to do nothing but relax and that really helps..
        <3 Chloe

Comment

Originally posted by Frogberto View Post
          Wow, this is the last place I was expecting a meditation posting.
          Hey, my mind is wide open.

Thanks for the input, so far. All very interesting! Keep it coming!

Comment

The only time that I can meditate is after I have taken about three Xanax.